Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Big Winners at Cinema Eye Honors Awards

Not exactly as high profile as some other award shows, the Cinema Eye Honors is one award show our website can truly support. In it's fourth year, this award show is all about nonfiction cinema. To quote their mission statement, "Cinema Eye’s mission is to advocate for, recognize and promote the highest commitment to rigor and artistry in the nonfiction field."

Their awards show was hosted last night, but will air on the Documentary Channel on January 30, 2011 (so get your TiVo ready!). But really, let's be honest, all you care about is who won:

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking: "Exit Through the Gift Shop"
Outstanding Achievement in Direction: Laura Poitras, "The Oath"
Outstanding Achievement in Production: Mila Aung-Thwin and Daniel Cross, "Last Train Home"
Outstanding Achievement in Editing: Chris King and Tom Fulford, "Exit Through the Gift Shop"
Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Lixin Fan, "Last Train Home"
Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score: Norbert Möslang, "The Sound of Insects: Record of a Mummy"
Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design and Animation: Juan Cardarelli and Alex Tyson, "Gasland"
Outstanding Achievement in an International Feature: "Last Train Home"
Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film: "Marwencol"
Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking: "The Poodle Trainer"
Audience Choice Prize: "Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work"
Legacy Award: "Grey Gardens"
Spotlight Award: "The Autobiography of Nicolae Ceaucascu"Heterodox Award: "Putty Hill"

So what do you think? Is Exit Through the Gift Shop the best documentary of the year? Is Last Train Home worthy of three awards? I tend to agree with the previous years' winners, but this year, I see some debate.

No comments: